Weart ’72 is first pharmacist to receive MacFarland Award

Roby Hill
October 28, 2021

The pharmacy profession has run out of awards to give him, so now physicians are getting in on the act. Wayne Weart R ’72 is one of South Carolina’s most decorated and respected pharmacy figures, and was an early advocate of creating strong, interactive relationships between physicians and pharmacists to improve patient care.

The emeritus professor of clinical pharmacy and outcomes science recently became the first pharmacist ever awarded the James MacFarland Award by the South Carolina chapter of the American College of Physicians.

The MacFarland Award honors someone who cares for patients, demonstrates scholarship, teaches, is an outstanding clinician and teacher, and represents the values of internal medicine.

And, technically, must be a physician. But Wayne Weart has never let a label stop him.

“Dr. Weart has demonstrated through his lifelong commitment to excellence and quality that he is an exemplary example for all health care providers as he has upheld the high ideals and professional standards of medicine,” said Kathy Chessman, professor and chair of clinical pharmacy and outcomes science.

After earning a five-year BS in pharmacy at the University of Georgia, Weart came to MUSC for a two-year post-BS residency and then went to the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy for his Pharm.D. He joined MUSC as a faculty member in 1979, launching a career in which he put a distinct stamp on South Carolina pharmacy as reflected in his many offices and awards.

A highly-selective compendium of his pharmacy honors includes:

  • among the first pharmacists to become Board-Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist
  • honored for his excellence in pharmacy practice and designated a Fellow of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists. 
  • named a Primary Care Policy Fellow for 1999 by the U.S. Public Health Service
  • honored by the Alumni Association of the MUSC College of Pharmacy as a Distinguished Alumnus in 2002
  • received the Bowl of Hygeia Award from the South Carolina Pharmacy Association in 2003
  • received the George D. Schwerin Mentor Award from the South Carolina Society of Health System Pharmacists in 2004
  • recognized three times by the MUSC pharmacy student body for his excellence in education by the Golden Mortar and Pestle Award
  • in 2012, honored with the Phi Lambda Sigma (PLS)-Procter & Gamble Leadership Award
  • one of a select few designated as “Master Teacher” by the MUSC Board of Trustees

About the Author

Roby Hill

Keywords: Alumni News, Awards, College News, Pharmacy Month